10 Tips to Discover Your Greatness

9298936641_869f19a96e_z
Graphic of quote “You don’t have to be great to start but you have to start to be great” – Zig Zigler Graphic Courtesy of Next Twenty-Eight Days

What’s up guys! It’s Jeff.

Something I noticed about myself is that it has taken me a long time to discover my greatness. I also noticed that many of my friends have or are experiencing the same difficulties. So, I decided to reach out to TaTee’etta McBride, a co-worker who I thought to be pretty freaking great, so I can develop and share some gems (a.k.a tips). We all deserve to discover our greatness and these tips should help get you on that path. In no specific order here we go:

  1. Surround yourself with inspiring people.

This is something that I have only recently discovered. If you want to feel the greatness, you must align yourself with people who also feel that way and are encouraging you to achieve that greatness. For me that person was my older cousin who is so inspiring and is always in my corner cheering me on every step of the way and reminding that life is not a sprint, it’s a marathon.

  1. Be Optimistic.

This tip speaks for itself. Dwelling on the bad things that happen in life isn’t going to help you discover your greatness, it’s actually going to make you feel worse. You have to look on the brighter side of things. Through every experience that is knowledge to be gained and you can use that to create a better outcome for next time.

  1. Set Goals…Big and Small.

Setting goals are a great way to track progress. Small goals are a great way for you to feel like you’re getting stuff done while you work on bigger achievements. TaTee’Etta and I both find that goal setting is very productive and encouraging when trying to feel the greatness running through our veins. Once you achieve that goal you feel amazing and like you can conquer anything you put your mind to.

  1. Be Flexible.

OMG! This is probably one of the most difficult things for me and I am still trying to grasp the concept. You (and myself included) need to understand that we are young and not everything is going to go as planned. You need to allow for flexibility in your plan because life happens and things change. Just because you haven’t got that internship yet or you still live with your parents at 26 doesn’t mean you’re a failure. No matter how hard you try you can’t control everything.

  1. Check yourself before you wreck yourself.

TaTee’Etta shared that she still gets so engulfed in other people’s issues in order to avoid acknowledging her own. This is basically telling to you to get your sh-t together before you try to help someone else. She goes on to tell me that you are in control of your happiness and said that we have the ability to change the things we want. So start getting it together so you can bask in greatness.

6. Don’t be afraid of failure or rejection.

Its happens, don’t let it discourage you from attempting other things. Rejection or failure is a part of life no matter how much we want to succeed at everything we do. Nobody is perfect and even Oprah was rejected. Pick yourself up and dust yourself off. Your greatness is waiting for you.

  1. Discover your passion or interests.

Find out what you love because most of the time your good at it. If your passionate about something you will feel greatness radiating through your body and as a result you’ll attract people who see your passion and they will support you.

  1. Find out why people love you.

Compliments never hurt anyone. Ask your friends why they love you and support you and remember those things. Use them for affirmations because most of the time they are great qualities about you that you didn’t even realize.

  1. Make sure you feel like a Level 9 Beyoncé.

This is an on-going joke that I have with myself but to me it means be that “baddest” version of yourself that you can be. Love yourself so much that you feel like nothing can stop you. Work hard in everything you do and look good doing it.

  1. Be unapologetically you.

People are going to love you for who you are. Find out who that is and own that sh-t.

 

 

I hope these gems will help you guys to discover your greatness and if you have any other tips be sure to share them!

 

 

*I would like to thank TaTee’Etta McBride for allowing me to probe her brain and share it on the internet.

Leave a Reply

